Search Ebook here:

The Rise of the Dragon: An Illustrated History of the Targaryen Dynasty, Volume One

The Rise of the Dragon: An Illustrated History of the Targaryen Dynasty, Volume One PDF

Author: George R. R. Martin

Publisher: Ten Speed Press


Publish Date: October 25, 2022

ISBN-10: 1984859250

Pages: 352

File Type: Epub

Language: English

read download

Book Preface

THE HISTORY OF Westeros stretches back thousands of years, but the period in which House Targaryen unified the various realms into the Seven Kingdoms as we know them covers less than three hundred. The history of the family goes back further than that, however, to its beginnings in the Freehold of Valyria. The Targaryens were an ancient and noble lineage—dragonlords who bred and rode the great beasts that had extended the Freehold’s power across western Essos—yet they were still a relatively minor family among the great Valyrian houses. When Aenar Targaryen sold his lands and properties and moved his entire family and their dragons to Valyria’s westernmost outpost, the isle called Dragonstone in the narrow sea, his rivals thought him a coward. Little did they know that his daughter, Daenys the Dreamer, had foretold the Doom of Valyria. Twelve years later, the Freehold was destroyed in a cataclysm when the volcanic Fourteen Flames erupted, shattering the Valyrian peninsula and the empire along with it. In the chaos that followed, all the dragonlords of Valyria perished, along with their dragons…apart from the Targaryens on their rocky isle of Dragonstone.

What follows in this book is a guide to the first half of that period, beginning with Aegon’s Conquest through the end of the regency of Aegon III Dragonbane



The Conquest

The Seven Kingdoms

The Stormlands

The Kingdom of the Isles and the Rivers

The Reach

The Westerlands

The Vale

The North


The Arrival of the Targaryens

Aegon’s Landing and Conquest

The Reign of Aegon I

The Dragon’s Wars

The Dragon’s Governance

The Dragon’s Kin

The Reign of Aenys I

Ascension and Rebellion

Royal Tensions

The Reign of Maegor I

Bloody Coronation

War with the Faith Militant

Death in the Royal House

The Black Brides

The Reign of Jaehaerys I

The Regency

The Early Reign

The King’s Works

The Later Reign

The Reign of Viserys I

Apex of Power

The Seeds of War

The Reign of Aegon II

The Dance of the Dragons

The Death of Dragons

The Regency of Aegon III

The Council of Regents

War and Peace





How to Read and Open File Type for PC ?